公共会议室

部分图书馆免费为教育、文化、市民或娱乐会议和计划提供会议室。在图书馆会议室举行的会议和计划必须免费对公众开放并且符合公众的潜在兴趣。

提供会议室的图书馆

图书馆会议室的公共使用政策

2010年5月5日修订版

穆鲁玛郡图书馆秉持着自己的使命按照下列规则向公众提供用于教育、文化、市民或娱乐会议和计划用途的会议室。

穆鲁玛郡图书馆支持和认可美国图书馆协会的图书馆权利清单,该清单规定:

“向公众提供会议室、展览室或其他场地的图书馆应以相同的条件向所有人提供有关场地,不应因其信仰或党派不同而区别对待。”

秉持着有限的公共论坛这样一个角色,公共图书馆在会议室未被占用的情况下始终坚持免费为社区团体提供会议室。

图书馆同意某个机构使用图书馆的会议室并不代表图书馆及其职员和咨询委员会或穆鲁玛郡行政委员会认可该机构的信仰。

会议室使用规则

  1. 图书馆和穆鲁玛郡的计划和赞助活动拥有优先使用会议室的权利。图书馆保留将被预定的会议室安排给图书馆赞助的计划和活动优先使用的权利。图书馆或其他机构如欲取消会议室预定,须在会议日期前提前24小时取消。

  2. 会议室可以提前两个月预定,会议室的提供准则是先预定者先得。由于数量有限,每个团体一个月只能使用会议室一次。

  3. 所有会议必须对公众开放。

  4. 赞助团体不得收取或招揽入场费,不得要求或招揽受众捐款或捐赠其他财物,不得推销或销售服务、产品、商品、材料或其他物品。俄勒冈州宪法第十一条第9节规定,图书馆等政府机构不得向私营企业提供经济援助,除非出于明确的公共目的。

  5. 经授权,赞助团体可以为图书馆赞助的计划和活动或者代表图书馆之友或图书馆基金会销售服务、产品、商品、材料或其他物品或者招揽捐赠。

  6. 根据上述第4点规定,一般不允许任何团体将图书馆会议室用于商业目的。但是,商业实体或职业从业者可以使用图书馆会议室向公众提供与其专业领域有关的教育计划。在这种情况下,专家提供的教育机会可使公众受益。在教育计划实施期间或完成之后,商业实体、职业从业者或其他商业利益方不得试图销售任何特定的产品或服务。因此,在计划参与者预先报名时或参与计划之后,实施计划的个人或实体不得散发名片或者散发推销任何业务、产品或服务的宣传册,也不得向计划参与者收集个人信息(姓名、地址、电话号码等)。

  7. 会议室不得用于音乐演奏会、个人训练项目、生日聚会、周年聚会、婚礼、葬礼或其他个人庆祝活动。

  8. 没有静修阅读室的社区图书馆会议室在一般情况下不可以用作静修阅读室,只能在紧急情况下用作临时的静修阅读室。中央图书馆不提供静修阅读室。

  9. 图书馆只在开馆时间提供会议室,会议必须在闭馆前15分钟结束。

  10. 赞助团体可以供应小点心,但是不能使用图书馆财产来准备食物。会议结束后,由团体负责打扫会议室。

  11. 在向公众公布会议即将在图书馆会议室举行的消息时,必须明确注明赞助团体。赞助团体不得向公众暗示图书馆是有关计划或机构的赞助方。

  12. 经预先批准,赞助团体可以在图书馆指定的位置张贴告示。

  13. 每个会议室只提供桌椅,不提供其他设备。赞助团体自行布置、重新排列和取下桌椅。会议室必须保持干净,保养良好,并且与使用前的状态一致。如果赞助团体损坏了图书馆财产,则须承担由此造成的费用,甚至可能失去日后再次使用会议室的资格。

  14. 任何人带入会议室的财产如果被盗或损坏,图书馆概不承担责任。

  15. 年满18岁的成人必须签署图书馆会议室申请表(PDF,62KB)。青少年团体使用会议室时,至少须有一名年满18岁的成人在场。

  16. 赞助团体负责确保参加会议的人数不超过火警部门规定的会议室最大占用率。

  17. 使用图书馆会议室的所有团体、俱乐部、实体或个人均须遵守上述使用规则以及关于使用穆鲁玛郡图书馆的行为准则。如果任何人(遵守规则的图书馆内部人员除外)违反这些规则,我们可能要求其立即终止会议并且/或者取消其日后再次使用会议室的资格。

其他政府机构(包括市级、郡级、州级和联邦政府级)使用会议室

在可能的情况下,图书馆也向其他政府机构或其承包商提供会议室。图书馆和穆鲁玛郡的计划和活动拥有优先使用会议室的权利,公众对会议室的需求也将影响其他政府机构对会议室的使用频率。使用会议室的其他政府机构同样必须遵守上述使用规则,以下情况除外:

  1. 如果其他政府机构或者代表政府机构运作的承包商提前两个月预定会议室,那么图书馆确保其可以使用会议室。

  2. 会议室可提前四个月预定。

  3. 其他政府机构使用会议室时,会议无需对公众开放。

  4. 如果公众也将参加会议,那么图书馆只在开馆时间向其他政府机构提供会议室。如果政府机构举行的会议只限内部职员参加,那么图书馆只在有职员当值但不对公众开放的时间提供会议室。如果政府机构要求在图书馆没有职员当值的时间使用会议室,则须经中央图书馆馆长或社区图书馆馆长批准。

程序

  1. 所有团体必须填写图书馆会议室申请表(PDF,62KB)并且仔细阅读图书馆会议室的公共使用政策(2010年5月5日修订版)中的会议室使用规则和程序。

  2. 提供会议室的图书馆均可提供纸质申请表和在线申请表。

  3. 请向拟在召开会议的图书馆提交申请表。申请表全部归档并且每年更新。会议地点拟在的图书馆主管或经理将依据图书馆会议室的公共使用政策审核并批准或拒绝申请表,如果对是否批准申请表存有疑虑,应请示社区图书馆馆长或中央图书馆馆长。

  4. 如果提交的图书馆会议室申请表被拒绝,申请人可以以书面形式诉诸图书馆馆长。馆长将审核有关申请表并以书面形式给予答复。

Public meeting rooms

Some libraries offer free use of meeting room space for meetings and programs that serve an educational, cultural, civic or recreational purpose. Meetings and programs held in library meeting rooms must be free, open and of potential interest to the general public.

Libraries with meeting rooms

Public use of library meeting rooms

Last revised 05.05.10

In keeping with its mission, Multnomah County Library offers meeting room space to the public for educational, cultural, civic and recreational purposes, subject to the rules outlined below.

Multnomah County Library supports and endorses the American Library Association's Library Bill of Rights, which states:

"Libraries which maintain meeting spaces, exhibit space or other facilities open to the public should make them available on equal terms to all persons, regardless of their beliefs or affiliations."

In keeping with the role of a limited public forum, public libraries have traditionally provided free meeting room space for community groups when space is available.

The fact that an organization is permitted to meet at the library does not constitute an endorsement of the organization's beliefs by the library, its staff, its advisory board or the Multnomah County Board of Commissioners.

Meeting room use rules

  1. Library or Multnomah County programs and sponsored events have priority in the use of meeting room space. The library reserves the right to reschedule confirmed meeting room reservations to accommodate library-sponsored programs and events. Cancellations by either the group or the library must be made 24 hours in advance of the meeting date.
  2. Reservations of meeting rooms may be made two months in advance, with the exception of the small room (2B) at Central Library, which may be reserved as a quiet room no more than one week prior. Use is granted on a first-come, first-served basis. Use of the meeting rooms may be limited to once per month for each group, due to limited meeting room space.
  3. All meetings must be open to the public.
  4. No admission fees may be charged or solicited. No donations of money or other property may be solicited or collected from the audience. No promotions or sales of services, products, merchandise, materials or other items are allowed. The Constitution of Oregon, Article XI, Section 9, precludes a government agency like the library from providing financial aid to private enterprise absent a clear public purpose.
  5. Sales of services, products, merchandise, materials or items or solicitations for donations authorized pursuant to a library-sponsored program or event, or on behalf of the Friends of the Library or The Library Foundation, are permitted.
  6. As described in number 4 above, commercial use of library meeting rooms is generally not permitted. However, a commercial entity or professional practitioner may use a library meeting room to provide an educational program open to the general public related to his or her field of expertise. In such a case, an educational opportunity offered by an expert provides benefit to the public. During such a program, no attempt may be made to sell, at the time of the program or in the future, a specific product or service offered by the entity or practitioner or any other commercial interest. Therefore, the individual or entity offering the program may not hand out business cards or brochures promoting any business, product or service and may not solicit personal information (names, addresses, phone numbers, etc.) from the program participants, either as part of a pre-registration process or during the program itself.
  7. Musical recitals and individual practice sessions are not permitted. Rooms may not be used for birthday and anniversary parties, weddings, funerals, or other personal celebrations.
  8. Neighborhood library meeting rooms in locations that do not have quiet study rooms may not be reserved as "quiet rooms" but may be used as such on a drop-in basis if not in use.
  9. Meeting rooms are available during hours when the library is open. Meetings must adjourn 15 minutes before closing time.
  10. Light refreshments may be served, but groups may not prepare food on library property. Groups are responsible for cleanup.
  11. In publicizing a meeting to be held in a library meeting room, the sponsoring group must be clearly identified. Groups must not imply library sponsorship of their program or organization in their publicity.
  12. With prior approval, groups may post signs in library-approved locations.
  13. Tables and chairs are available at each location. No other equipment is provided. The group is responsible for setting up, rearranging, and taking down tables and chairs. meeting rooms must be left clean, in good repair and in the same condition as found. Any group that damages library property will be liable for costs incurred in connection with such damage and may lose the privilege of using meeting rooms in the future.
  14. The library is not responsible for theft of or damage to property brought into a library meeting room.
  15. An adult age 18 or older must sign the Library Meeting Room Application below, and at least one adult age 18 or older must be present when youth groups use the meeting rooms.
  16. Each group is responsible for ensuring that attendance at its meeting does not exceed the maximum occupancy for the meeting room as set by the Fire Marshall.
  17. All groups, clubs, entities or individuals using a library meeting room must comply with these rules and with the Behavior Rules Governing the Use of Multnomah County Library. Failure to comply with the rules may lead to immediate termination of the meeting, exclusion of individuals from library premises pursuant to the rules, and/or loss of future meeting room use privileges.

Meeting room use by other government agencies (e.g. city, county, state and federal)

The library makes its meeting rooms available for use by other government agencies, or their contractors, when possible. Library and county programs and sponsored events have priority for use of meeting room space, and demand by the public for meeting room space may also affect how frequently library meeting rooms are available to other government agencies. Use by other government agencies is subject to the above rules, with some exceptions:

  1. Another government agency, or contractor working on behalf of a government-funded agency, that has booked space within two months of the use date will be considered to be confirmed in the use of the space.
  2. Reservations of meeting rooms may be made four months in advance.
  3. Meetings booked by other government agencies do not need to be open to the public.
  4. If the public will attend a meeting, meeting rooms are available to other government agencies during hours when the library is open. Agencies holding meetings open only to their own staff may be approved to use the meeting room during hours the library is staffed but not open to the public. An agency that wishes to use a library meeting room during hours the library is not staffed will be referred to the Central Library Director or Neighborhood Libraries Director.


  1. All groups must complete and submit Public meeting room reservations. A downloadable version of the form (PDF) is also available. Please review the meeting room rules and procedures contained in Public Use of Library meeting rooms (latest revision 05.05.10). Paper application forms are also available at all library locations where meeting rooms are available and on the library website.
  2. Please submit paper applications to the library where the proposed meeting will be held. Applications are kept on file and must be updated annually. The library supervisor or manager at the location where the meeting is requested will review and approve or deny all applications based on the Public Use of Library meeting room rules. When in doubt, the application will be referred to the Neighborhood Libraries director or the Central Library director for consultation.
  3. Any applicant denied use of a library meeting room may appeal the denial in writing to the director of libraries. The director will review the application and respond in writing to the applicant.