互联网和图书馆公共电脑的可接受使用规则

2012年2月6日修订版

用户可以使用图书馆的公共电脑搜索各种电子资源。图书馆资源电脑只能用于搜索图书馆的资源以及图书馆挑选的电子数据库。互联网电脑可以用于搜索图书馆资源以外的信息。我们在互联网电脑上安装了全套最流行的因特网浏览器插件,包括搜索互联网、显示文件和查看多媒体内容的插件。互联网电脑还可以用于文字处理。但是,没有哪台电脑能够支持所有的文件类型、浏览器插件和互联网技术。

使用图书馆的电脑时请务必遵守本政策和穆鲁玛郡图书馆馆内行为政策。您也可以到图书馆的服务台了解这些政策。

使用互联网资源

穆鲁玛郡图书馆致力于向各年龄段和各种背景的用户提供信息资源、教育资源、娱乐资源和文化资源。从印刷版藏品到视听版藏品,穆鲁玛郡图书馆始终坚持以多种格式提供信息。图书馆的电脑体系为用户提供将全球信息网络中的电子资源与图书馆的其他资源相整合的机会。图书馆尽力在用户使用信息资源的权利与用户和职员在公共环境下渴望免受声音和图片骚扰的权利之间做到平衡。

图书馆提供互联网接入的目标是在规模和深度上扩充藏品的同时,以公共机构的身份向所有需要使用互联网的用户提供使用互联网的机会。

图书馆职员为符合图书馆使命和服务角色的搜索,持续在图书馆网站上确定和公布网站。我们分设儿童青少年家庭作业中心研究主题站点,帮助用户查找符合其年龄和主题要求的站点。

图书馆职员可以帮助您使用电脑查找所需信息。图书馆职员和志愿者还可以帮助您学会使用互联网电脑上的搜索工具,但是不能广泛提供一对一的帮助。您可以到咨询台了解图书馆提供哪些培训,或者进入活动查看附近社区图书馆开设哪些培训班。

互联网过滤

互联网上包含大量信息,可以在人格上、专业上和文化上丰富各个年龄段用户的知识。但是,互联网上也可能包含一些冒犯信息、骚扰信息、错误信息或不完整信息。我们鼓励用户评估互联网信息的有效性和适合性。

图书馆以及其他独立机构的测试结果表明,使用过滤软件有助于阻止含有不良信息的网站。但是,过滤软件无法阻止所有此类网站,而且有时候会误将有用的网站阻止掉,包括适合儿童、青少年和成人使用的网站。

我们在公共互联网电脑上安装了商业过滤软件。图书馆的过滤政策秉持知识自由的原则,允许成人自行选择是否开启过滤功能。为了确保图书馆成为一个受儿童欢迎并且安全的场所,过滤政策明确规定家长拥有代表儿童或青少年做出是否开启过滤功能选择的权利和责任。

  • 年满18岁的成人每次使用电脑都可以选择是否开启搜索过滤功能。

  • 13-17岁的青少年可以自行选择是否开启互联网过滤功能,除非其家长或监护人要求开启过滤功能。

  • 对12岁及12岁以下的儿童开启互联网过滤功能,除非其家长或监护人要求我们允许儿童自行选择是否开启过滤功能。

如果孩子做出不恰当的互联网使用选择,家长可以代其重新选择。参见关于过滤器和互联网的家长指南

关于互联网访客通行证用户的过滤规则,请参看下文时间限制和其他限制一节。

儿童电脑

穆鲁玛郡图书馆内的儿童区专为儿童设计。儿童区提供一定数量的电脑,其中有许多电脑专门提供适合儿童使用的资源。为了更好地服务儿童,儿童区的所有电脑仅限14岁及14岁以下的儿童以及陪同或帮助儿童的成人照顾者使用。启动后,儿童互联网电脑会显示一个特殊的儿童界面,并且开启互联网过滤功能。我们建议您在家里电脑显示器旁边贴一张字迹清晰、易懂的“家庭规则”,并提醒孩子在公共图书馆使用互联网电脑时也须遵守这些规则。如果可能的话,您可以监督和引导孩子的在线活动。如果您对电脑和互联网操作不熟悉,我们诚邀您参加图书馆的免费培训班。然后,您可以和孩子一起坐在电脑前面,让孩子向您演示他/她经常在互联网上浏览哪些网站和搜索哪些信息。

家长和孩子均须阅读国家失踪与受虐儿童援助中心NetSmartz.orgConnectSafely为家长和青少年提供有用的安全提示和建议。

时间限制和其他限制

图书馆的读者必须凭本人的图书卡卡号才能使用互联网。没有办理图书卡的图书馆访客可以出示最近的、有效的、带有照片的身份证件,凭此登记领取互联网访客通行证。如果带有照片的身份证件上没有载明出生日期,访客在登记领取互联网访客通行证时必须告知其出生日期(12岁及12岁以下的儿童无须出示身份证件,但是只能领取到开启了互联网过滤功能的访客通行证)。图书馆图书卡持卡人不可以领取访客通行证,图书馆访客每天只能领取一张访客通行证。

每人每天只能使用互联网电脑两次,每次一小时,而且必须凭本人的图书卡卡号或访客通行证号才能登录互联网电脑。如果您不知道如何登录互联网电脑,可以向图书馆工作人员求助。图书馆工作人员可能会留出特殊用途的电脑,例如儿童专用电脑和残疾人士专用电脑,并针对互联网电脑的使用采取其他措施,以便实现本政策的目标。

图书馆的电脑设置为单人使用。除非在电脑实验室、青少年休息室,或者儿童由家长或监护人陪同时,每台电脑前面最多只能坐两个人。

隐私

在您使用图书馆电脑时,图书馆会采取一系列措施保护您的隐私。参见图书馆记录隐私和保密声明

图书馆的电脑配有防窥屏,但是并不能防止图书馆其他用户看到您的浏览内容。图书馆是一个公共场所,其他用户可能会无心地看到您的浏览内容。我们提醒您时刻记住自己处在一个对各年龄段用户开放的公共场所。

注意事项

图书馆的隐私政策禁止任何用户参加非法活动或者参加干扰或破坏网络、其他用户、服务或设备的活动,这些活动不属于隐私政策的保护范围。图书馆不会经常监控公共电脑,但是保留在发现违反本政策的可疑活动或非法活动时监控公共电脑的权利。图书馆职员有权直接采取行动保护电脑和网络的安全以及执行下述规则,包括没收可移动设备、要求用户登出电脑或离开图书馆和联系执法部门。

请务必遵守著作权法、许可协议以及被浏览网站的政策。

通知:版权限制警告

作为读者,您在发布或链接至任何受版权保护的内容时应遵守美国著作权法。如果图书馆职员判定您发布或链接的内容违反了著作权法,则图书馆有权删除或关闭该内容。依据《美国法典》第17卷第512(i)(1)(A)条规定,如果您不尊重他人的知识产权或者重复侵犯他人的版权,图书馆可以终止您使用穆鲁玛郡图书馆体系的资格。图书馆已经制定本政策,在合适的情况下将为本政策的执行做出一切合理努力。

从互联网上下载的软件和其他文件有可能包含会感染其他电脑的病毒或间谍软件。

关于使用图书馆电脑的规则

如果您不遵守以下规则,我们可能取消您使用公共电脑和图书馆的资格并且向您提起诉讼。

用户每次登陆图书馆电脑时均须接受确认以下规则的点击使用协议并同意遵守以下规则:

  1. 使用互联网电脑前先登记;使用本人的图书卡卡号或访客通行证号登录电脑;使用时间结束时立即登出电脑。
  2. 如果图书馆工作人员要求您立即登出电脑,请照做。
  3. 您可以使用电脑支持的设备从图书馆电脑上下载文件。使用图书馆电脑时,如果您的设备或数据不慎损坏,包括因机械故障或者病毒或间谍软件感染而造成的损坏,图书馆概不承担责任。请不要运行或执行个人存储设备上的程序或应用程序。
  4. 除了打印您的读者记录或活动搜索器的搜索结果以外,在公共电脑上打印文件之前请按照张贴的收费标准先缴费。
  5. 图书馆的电脑配有防窥屏,但是防窥效果非常有限。请尊重其他用户的隐私,不要试图观察或评论其他用户的浏览内容。时刻记住您处在一个向各年龄段用户开放的公共场所。有些图书馆要求所有用户使用防窥屏,也有些图书馆由当值职员决定是否要求用户使用防窥屏。如果图书馆要求您使用防窥屏,请照做。
  6. 同时按住ctrl、alt和del,然后选择“锁定计算机”,即可锁定电脑。离开电脑时,锁定电脑可以保护您的隐私。如需解锁电脑,请再次同时按住ctrl、alt和del,然后输入您的图书卡卡号和PIN。
  7. 在图书馆工作人员的要求下,请立即停止浏览任何给图书馆其他用户和工作人员带来不利影响的网站。有其他人在场时,请勿浏览类似网站。
  8. 请使用耳机收听有声内容,并将音量调至不打扰其他人的水平。
  9. 您的使用时间结束时,请登出电脑,以示对其他人的礼貌,同时也能保护您的隐私。登出步骤:同时按住ctrl、alt和del,选择“退出”,然后继续选择“退出”。
  10. 请不要围在电脑周围,以免妨碍其他人或者制造出影响其他人的噪音。
  11. 所有图书馆的儿童电脑全部仅限儿童及其陪同照顾者使用。
  12. 无论是否征得他人同意,请勿使用他人的身份证件、条形码或PIN登记和登录图书馆电脑。
  13. 请勿误用电脑设备或软件。

误用包括但不限于:

  • 浏览违反联邦、州或地方法律或法规的内容,包括访问、浏览、打印和散布淫秽作品或儿童色情作品。
  • 侵入图书馆电脑系统或其他电脑系统。
  • 侵害、损坏或试图损坏电脑设备或软件;篡改电脑设置。
  • 破坏系统的操作、完整性或安全性。
  • 使用或试图使用他人的文件或授权码。
  • 展示或打印违反穆鲁玛郡性骚扰政策的内容。
  • 参加主动攻击性活动或者制造恐吓或敌对氛围。
  • 在图书馆资源电脑上远程登录外部资源。
  • 违反著作权法、软件许可协议或者所浏览网站的政策。
  • 不支付打印费。
  • 拒绝或忽视图书馆工作人员提出的登出电脑要求。
  • 使用互联网电脑前未登记;未使用本人的图书卡卡号或访客通行证号登录电脑。
  • 不遵守时间限制。
  • 其他违反互联网和图书馆公共电脑的可接受使用规则的行为。

Acceptable use of the Internet and library public computers

Last revised 02.06.12

The library's public computers allow users to search a variety of electronic resources. Library resource computers are exclusively for searching the library's holdings and selected electronic databases. Internet computers provide information beyond the confines of the library's collection. Internet computers offer a full range of the most popular Internet browser plug-ins for searching the Internet, displaying files, and viewing multimedia content. Internet computers also provide access to word processing. No station provides support for all file types, browser plug-ins, or Internet technologies.

Use all library computers in accordance with this policy and the Multnomah County Library Behavior in the library policy. Copies of these policies are also available from a library service desk.

Access to Internet resources

Multnomah County Library is committed to providing access to informational, educational, recreational and cultural resources for library users of all ages and backgrounds. Throughout its history, the Multnomah County Library has made information available in a variety of formats, from print materials to audiovisual materials. The library's computer system provides the opportunity to integrate electronic resources from information networks around the world with the library's other resources. The library strives to balance the rights of users to access information resources with the rights of users to work in a public environment free from sounds and images intended to harass other library users or library staff.

The library's goal in providing Internet access is to enhance its existing collection in size and depth and, as a public access agency, to give anyone who wishes to use the Internet the chance to do so.

Library staff continuously identifies and posts on the library's website specific starting points for searches that are appropriate to the library's mission and service roles. The KidsTeensHomework Center and Research topics sites have been provided to assist users in finding age- and topic-appropriate sites.

Library staff will help you use the computers to find the information you need. Library staff and volunteers also will help you learn to use search tools on the Internet computers, although they cannot provide extensive one-on-one instruction. Ask at any reference desk for information about training offered through the library, or check events for a list of classes at your neighborhood library.

Internet filtering

The Internet offers access to a wealth of material that is personally, professionally and culturally enriching to individuals of all ages. However, it also enables access to some material that may be offensive, disturbing, illegal, inaccurate or incomplete. Users are encouraged to evaluate the validity and appropriateness of information accessed via the Internet.

Tests by the library and by independent agencies have shown that filtering software may help to block access to objectionable Internet sites. However, the software cannot block out all objectionable sites, and it does sometimes block useful material, including sites that are suitable for children, teens and adults.

Public Internet computers are equipped with commercial filtering software. The library's filtering policy upholds the principles of intellectual freedom, allowing adults to make their own choices regarding filtering. The policy also aims to ensure that our libraries are safe and welcoming places for children, and it affirms the right and responsibility of parents to make choices for their own children and teens.

  • Adults (18 years and older) may choose filtered or unfiltered searching at each login
  • Teens (13-17) have the choice of filtered or unfiltered Internet access unless their parent or guardian designates filtered access.
  • Children (12 years and younger) have filtered Internet access unless a parent or guardian designates they may choose between filtered and unfiltered access.

Parents may choose to override these default Internet access options for their child. See Parent's Guide to Filters & the Internet.

See filtering rules for users of Internet guest passes under Time and other limits below.

Children's computers

The children's areas throughout Multnomah County Library are designed to be welcoming for children. These areas include a limited number of computers, many of which offer resources especially for children. To best serve children, all computers in designated children's areas are for the use of children age 14 and younger and for adult caregivers accompanying or assisting children. Children's Internet computers open to a special children's interface and allow only filtered use of the Internet. We suggest that you post clear, easy-to-read "house rules" on or near your computer monitor at home and remind your children that these rules apply to their Internet use at the public library. Whenever possible, supervise your child's online activity. If you are not familiar with computers and the Internet, we invite you to take a free class at the library. Then, sit down with your children and have them show you the websites they visit and how they navigate through the Internet.

Parents and children should read NetSmartz.org from the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children. ConnectSafely offers useful safety tips and advice for parents and teens.

Time and other limits

To access the Internet a patron must use his or her own library card number. A visitor who does not have a library card may receive an Internet guest pass by signing up and showing current, valid photo identification. If your photo ID does not include a birthdate you must provide your birthdate for the guest pass registration. (Visitors age 12 and younger need not show identification.) Visitors age 12 and younger will receive a guest pass for filtered access only. A library cardholder may not receive a guest pass, and no visitor may receive more than one guest pass per day.

Each individual is limited to two one-hour sessions per day of Internet access and must use his or her own library card number or guest pass number to sign up for a computer and to log in. Ask any staff person for help to sign up for an Internet computer. Staff may free up special-purpose stations, such as those provided for children and people with disabilities, and take other measures that will manage Internet use and achieve the goals of this policy.

The library's computers are set up for use by a single individual. A maximum of two persons may sit/work together at any one computer, except in special cases, such as computer labs and teen lounges or when a parent/guardian is with children.

Privacy

The library takes a variety of measures to protect your privacy when you use library computers. See the Statement on privacy and confidentiality of library records.

Privacy screens are available for Internet computers. However, these screens cannot prevent other library users from seeing what you are viewing. The library's computers are in a public area. Others may be involuntarily exposed to what you are viewing. The library asks that you remain sensitive to the fact that you are working in a public environment shared by people of all ages.

Precautions

Illegal activities or activities that interfere with or disrupt the network, users, services or equipment are prohibited and not protected by the library's privacy policy. The library does not routinely monitor public computers, but reserves the right to do so when a violation of this policy or illegal activity is suspected. Staff is authorized to take immediate action to protect the security of computers and the network and to enforce the following rules. This includes confiscating any removable media, requiring a user to leave a computer or the premises, and contacting law enforcement authorities.

You are responsible for complying with copyright law, licensing agreements and the policies of individual websites that you view.

Notice: Warning of Copyright Restrictions

As a patron, your ability to post or link to copyrighted material is governed by United States copyright law. The library reserves the right to delete or disable any post or link that, in the judgment of library staff, violates copyright law. In accordance with 17 USC S 512 (i)(1)(A), the library may terminate a patron’s access to the system or network for disrespect of the intellectual property rights of others, or for repeat infringements of copyright. The library has adopted this policy and will make all reasonable effort to enforce it in appropriate circumstances.

Software and other files downloaded from the Internet may contain viruses or spyware that may infect other computers.

Rules governing use of library computers

Failure to comply with the following rules may result in loss of computer privileges, loss of library privileges and prosecution.

At each log-in, library computer users must complete a click-through agreement acknowledging these rules and must agree to follow the rules.

  1. Sign up for an Internet computer before using it; log on using your own library card or guest pass number and promptly give up the computer when your time has elapsed.
  2. Promptly give up the computer when requested by staff.
  3. You may download files using supported media. The library is not responsible for damage to your media or for corruption of your data, including damage caused by mechanical malfunction or corruption caused by virus or spyware infection while using library computers. Do not attempt to run or execute programs or applications from personal storage media.
  4. There is a charge for printing from public computers, except when printing your patron record or Event Finder search results. The charge is posted. You must pay before printing.
  5. Privacy screens are available for Internet computers. However, effectiveness of privacy screens is limited. Respect other's privacy by not attempting to observe or comment on what others are viewing. Remain sensitive to the fact that you are working in a public environment shared by people of all ages. Some locations require use of privacy screens by all users. In other locations, privacy screen use may be required at the discretion of the Person in Charge. Use a privacy screen if you are asked to do so.
  6. Patrons may "lock" an Internet Station by pressing ctrl+alt+del and selecting "lock computer." Doing so allows a patron to leave a computer unattended without having his/her privacy compromised. To unlock the computer, the patron must press ctrl+alt+del again and re-enter his/her library card number and PIN.
  7. Stop viewing any site that creates a hostile environment for other library users and staff if a staff member asks you to stop, and do not view similar sites when others are present.
  8. Use headphones when listening to audio content, and keep volume low so you do not disturb others.
  9. As a courtesy to others, log off completely when you are finished with your session. This also protects the privacy of your search. To do this, press the Ctrl-Alt-Del keys, select Log Off, then Log Off again.
  10. Do not gather around computers when doing so may obstruct others or create noise that distracts others.
  11. Whether or not they are in use, children's computers in all locations are for the exclusive use of children and their accompanying caregivers.
  12. Do not use another's identification, bar code or pin number, with or without permission, to sign up or log on to a computer.
  13. Do not misuse computer equipment or software.

Misuse includes but is not limited to:

  • Viewing material that violates federal, state or local laws or regulations, including those regarding accessing, viewing, printing and distributing obscenity or child pornography
  • Hacking into the library computer system or any other computer system
  • Mishandling, damaging or attempting to damage computer equipment or software; tampering with computer settings
  • Interfering with system operations, integrity or security
  • Attempting to gain or gaining access to another person's files or authorization code
  • Displaying or printing materials that violate Multnomah County's policy on sexual harassment.
  • Engaging in any activity that is deliberately offensive or creates an intimidating or hostile environment
  • Telnetting to outside locations on a Library Resource Computer
  • Violating copyright laws and software licensing agreements or the policies of the individual websites that you view
  • Failing to pay for printing
  • Refusing or ignoring a staff person's request to give up a computer
  • Failing to sign up for an Internet computer; failing to log in using your own library card number or guest card number
  • Failing to comply with time limits
  • Any other violation of the Acceptable Use of the Internet and Library Public Computers statement